Rough Rider was released in 1982 on Columbia Records.


Song List

  1. Pouring Water On A Drowning Man 3:20
  2. What Made You Change Your Mind 2:47
  3. Ice Cold Love 3:22
  4. Now I Lay Me Down To Cheat 3:22
  5. Rough Rider 3:51
  6. Take Time To Know Her 3:28
  7. Time After Time 2:16
  8. Forever And Never 3:44
  9. Headed For The Country 3:01 icon-lyrics
  10. Meanwhile Back In Memphis 3:20

1 Comment

  1. Released at the beginning of 1982 and produced by Billy Sherrill, Rough Rider contains some of Coe’s finest performances. Written and recorded amidst personal and marital turmoil, it features one bona fide classic in “Pouring Water on a Drowning Man.” In addition, “What Made You Change Your Mind,” “Forever and Never,” and “Time After Time” rank among the singer/songwriter’s best self-penned material of the period. To balance matters, Coe’s choice of covers on this set is also impressive. His performances of “Now I Lay Me Down to Cheat” and “Take Time to Know Her” are authoritative and emotionally taut. And his stellar readings of two Larry Murray tunes, “Headed for the Country” and “Meanwhile Back in Memphis,” close the album on a note of acceptance and regret.

Leave a Reply